﻿# NVIDIA Tesla P100: LLM inference and server rendering boundaries

Specifications and qualification steps for NVIDIA Tesla P100, covering memory variants, LLM backends, Cycles and system integration.

Author: Retrivium team
Updated: 2026-11-02
Canonical URL: https://retrivium.ai/journal/nvidia-tesla-p100-llm-rendering/
Language: en

NVIDIA Tesla P100 is assessed here as an exact Pascal board configuration. Its published 12/16 GB capacity is the starting point for a workload qualification, not a measured serving or rendering result.

## Exact model and memory variants

P100 has12 GB PCIe, 16 GB PCIe and 16 GB SXM HBM2 variants. A memory label alone does not identify the physical host interface or installed board.

| Variant | Memory | Published board power | Cooling / format |
|---|---|---|---|
| P100 PCIe 12 GB | 12 GB HBM2 | Not specified | Server-platform cooling; PCIe board or SXM module; variant-specific host required |
| P100 PCIe 16 GB | 16 GB HBM2 | Not specified | Server-platform cooling; PCIe board or SXM module; variant-specific host required |
| P100 SXM 16 GB | 16 GB HBM2 | Not specified | Server-platform cooling; PCIe board or SXM module; variant-specific host required |

Specifications: [Official product/support documentation](https://www.nvidia.com/en-au/data-center/tesla-p100/).

## LLM backend and memory budget

Pascal P100 usesCC6.0 rather than theCC6.1 of many other Pascal cards. Current vLLM fails the architecture floor. Validate an explicit llama.cpp sm_60 CUDA12.x build with its retained driver.

The current vLLM requirement is compute capability7.5 or higher; this architecture is below that floor.

Compatibility evidence: [llama.cpp CUDA build configuration](https://github.com/ggml-org/llama.cpp/blob/master/ggml/src/ggml-cuda/CMakeLists.txt) and the [NVIDIA architecture matrix](https://docs.nvidia.com/datacenter/tesla/drivers/cuda-toolkit-driver-and-architecture-matrix.html).

## Cycles and batch rendering

For Cycles, separately validate CUDA/OptiX, driver and full-scene residency. HBM2 does not add RTX RT cores or GPU OIDN eligibility with its higher architecture requirement.

[Blender 5.2 LTS GPU rendering manual](https://docs.blender.org/manual/en/latest/render/cycles/gpu_rendering.html).

## Integration into a server or workstation

SXM modules require the designed server platform; PCIe cards have another integration. Keep variant-specific thermal and power documentation rather than borrowing an unverified number across the family. Unknown power fields in this profile are not zero-power claims.

## A concrete qualification scenario

A project receives P100 hardware described only as 16 GB. Identify PCIe versus SXM before any installation decision. Use a controlled sm_60 CUDA12.x environment and one bounded model/context case. Keep the 12 GB variant as a separate capacity row if present. Render an independent reference scene with documented denoising settings. Record failures at the physical, architecture and memory stages separately so that a fitting connector is not mistaken for workload compatibility.

## The evidence to retain

Keep an ordinary qualification record with the actual test outputs.

Identify the tested variant, software build and execution mode before entering observations. Leave unavailable measurements explicitly unknown.

The fields below separate published specifications from observed allocation and job completion, so a later operator can repeat the same case.

| Evidence field | What this profile must retain |
|---|---|
| Hardware identity | NVIDIA Tesla P100; physical variant and reported device identifier |
| Memory boundary | 12/16 GB published; observed free memory before and after loading |
| Inference artifact | Exact weights digest, quantization, context and offload configuration |
| Render artifact | Scene digest, renderer version, backend and denoising setting |
| System envelope | Driver, container/build digest, enclosure and cooling configuration |
| Completion evidence | Application exit status, output validity and observed memory failures |

The 12 GB PCIe capacity and 16 GB SXM interface are separate variant fields; neither can be inferred from theP100 family name.

Further reading: [RAM and VRAM: which memory matters for an AI server?](/journal/ram-vs-vram/), [A GPU inference benchmark you can trust](/journal/inference-benchmark-method/), [NVIDIA and AMD GPU catalogue](/journal/nvidia-amd-gpu-catalog/).
